Los Angeles Trespassing Attorney
Are you facing a trespassing charge in California? Get in touch with a California trespassing attorney who will work hard on your case.
Trespassing charges can vary depending on the circumstances surrounding the alleged crime. At the very least, you could get a fine for trespassing, and at the most, you could be sent to jail or prison if someone got hurt in the process.
What Is Trespassing?
Trespassing means you enter or stay on someone’s property without their permission. This would include going onto a person’s or a business’ property when there is a fence or other structure to keep people out, or there is a “no trespassing” sign. It would also include continuing to stay on someone’s property after they’ve asked you to leave.
“I felt like i was in nightmare. Chris literally saved my life.” – Jesus L.
Proving You Committed Trespassing
The prosecutor has to prove that you willfully entered someone’s property, you intended to interfere with that person’s property rights, and you did interfere with their rights. This means that you started causing a scene at a business or you broke someone’s belongings, for instance. The prosecutor will likely use witness statements, footage, and photographs of you entering a property without permission in order to try to convict you.
Penalties for Trespassing
If you enter someone’s property without permission, you could get off with an infraction and have to pay a fine of $75. If you go onto the same property again without permission, then that fine goes up to $250.
Usually, trespassing is charged as a misdemeanor and can result in up to six months in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If you threaten someone while trespassing or actually harm them, then you could be charged with felony trespassing. You could be sentenced with 16 months or two or three years in prison.
Aggravated trespass could apply depending on what happened during the trespassing incident and your criminal history. You could be charged with crimes related to trespassing as well. For instance, if you had the intent to commit petty theft or a felony when you were on someone’s property, then you could also be charged with burglary. And if you harmed someone while trespassing, then you could be dealt assault charges, too.
“From the moment I met Chris, I knew I was in good hands.” – Kevin H.
Defending Yourself Against a Trespassing Charge
Defenses to trespassing include having the right to be on someone’s property, or not seeing that a property had a sign or a fence up that said, “No trespassing.” Perhaps you accidentally wandered onto a property and had no idea that you couldn’t be there. If someone asked you to leave a property and you were in the process of leaving when you got arrested, this could be another defense.
Contact California Trespassing Attorney CBS Law
If you have been charged with trespassing in California, it’s time to get in touch with an attorney who will work hard on your case. Then, you will have the best chance possible of getting your charges reduced or potentially dropped altogether.
Contact us for your free 60-minute consultation by calling (213) 800-8005 or getting in touch on our website. CBS Law is here for you 24/7, and we’ll work hard on your case to ensure justice is served. We are looking forward to helping you with your trespassing charges in California.
Do NOT speak to law enforcement or investigators about your trespassing charges, as that information can and will be used against you in a court of law.
Christopher J. Bou Saeed Founding Attorney of CBS Law