Los Angeles Possession of a Controlled Substance Attorney
Are you facing a possession of a controlled substance charge in California? Get in touch with a possession of a controlled substance attorney who will fight for you, no matter what.
Getting charged with possessing drugs in California is a serious offense that could result in time behind bars, among other consequences. If you are contending with these charges, then it’s a good idea to learn more about them and discover how a possession of a controlled substance attorney can help you with your case. Then, you will have the best chance possible of getting your charges reduced or dropped, meaning you can move forward with your life in the most productive way possible.
What Is Possession of a Controlled Substance?
Possessing a controlled substance in California means that you had a certain drug on you that is deemed illegal and you were not allowed to possess it. Some drugs like meth and heroin are always considered illegal, while drugs like Ambien and Xanax are legal, but you need a valid prescription to possess them. Otherwise, it’s illegal for you to have them.
In the state of California, controlled substances are divided into five schedules. The most dangerous ones that could result in serious physical or psychological dependence are Schedule I, and the less severe drugs are Schedule V.
“There are three types of possession you could be charged with: actual possession, constructive possession, or joint possession. Actual possession would apply if the drug was actually on you; for example, it might have been in your pocket. Constructive possession would apply if the drug was somewhere you could easily access it, like in your car or apartment. Joint possession could be relevant if you had ownership of a drug with another person. For instance, you and someone else paid for the drug together and stored it somewhere.
“I felt like i was in nightmare. Chris literally saved my life.” – Jesus L.
Proving You Committed Possession of a Controlled Substance
In order for the possession charges to go through, the prosecutor has to prove that you knew you were in possession of the controlled substance and there was a usable amount. If they cannot prove these factors, then their case might not be valid.
Penalties for Possession of a Controlled Substance
If you are in unlawful possession of a controlled substance, which is also called possession for personal use or simple possession, you could be charged with a misdemeanor in California. This means you could be sentenced to up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000. If you are a first-time offender, you may be able to get your charges dismissed if you complete a drug diversion program or drug court.
If the prosecutor thinks that you intended to sell the drugs, then you could be charged with a felony. The penalties for selling a controlled substance in California include two, three, or four years in county jail, as well as up to $20,000 in fines.
“From the moment I met Chris, I knew I was in good hands.” – Kevin H.
Defending Yourself Against a Possession of a Controlled Substance Charge
You may have simply not known that the drugs were there, or there were traces of a drug that were unusable. Perhaps the drugs belonged to someone else. If you were in lawful possession of a drug or an illegal search and seizure occurred when you were arrested, you could use these factors in your defense.
Contact California Possession of a Controlled Substance Attorney CBS Law
If you are being charged with child endangerment, then it’s time to reach out to a child endangerment attorney who will defend you and work hard on your behalf. That’s CBS Law.
Want to learn more about what CBS Law can do for you? Then contact us for your free 60-minute consultation by calling (213) 800-8005 or getting in touch on our website. CBS Law is here for you 24/7, and we’ll work hard on your case to ensure justice is served. We are looking forward to helping you with your child endangerment charge in California.
Do NOT speak to law enforcement or investigators about your child endangerment charge, as that information can and will be used against you in a court of law.
Christopher J. Bou Saeed Founding Attorney of CBS Law