Free Consultations Available

(213) 800-8005

Los Angeles Hit and Run Defense Lawyer

Are you facing hit and run charges in California? Get in touch with a California hit and run defense attorney who will work hard for you, no matter what.
Getting charged with a hit and run in California can be daunting. You could be facing misdemeanor or felony charges, along with possible time in jail or prison and expensive fines. If convicted, your life could be changed forever.

What Is a Hit and Run?

A hit and run occurs if you hit a car, object, or pedestrian, and then flee the scene of the accident. In short, if you are involved in a car accident that resulted in damage to someone else’s property, you need to pull over and provide your name, address, driver’s license, and car registration upon request. In the event of a solo car accident, you are legally required to leave a note and call the police to report the accident.

“I felt like I was in a nightmare. Chris literally saved my life.” – Jesus L.

Penalties for a Misdemeanor Hit and Run

If you damaged someone else’s car or property, then you could be charged with a misdemeanor hit and run. If convicted, you could spend up to six months in county jail and pay a fine up to $1,000. You may also be placed on probation for up to three years and required to pay restitution for the damage caused. In addition, you could get two points on your California driving record.

Penalties for a Felony Hit and Run

If you leave the scene of an accident without identifying yourself and you caused injury to another person – or killed them – then you could be convicted of a misdemeanor or felony hit and run. If the conviction is a misdemeanor hit and run, then you would have to pay a fine between $1,000 and $10,000 and spend up to one year in county jail. If you’re convicted of a felony hit and run, then you could have to pay a fine between $1,000 and $10,000 and be sentenced to 16 months to three years in state prison. If death or a serious injury occurred, then prison time could range between two and four years.

Defending Against a Hit and Run

A California hit and run defense attorney will review the details of your case and help you strategize your defense against the charges. For instance, perhaps you hit another car and fled the scene without leaving your information because you didn’t see any visible damage. Since you didn’t spot the damage, you didn’t feel the need to report the accident. Maybe you didn’t even realize you bumped into something or that you caused any damage. For instance, you might have backed into a light pole but didn’t feel it, so you didn’t pull over and leave your information.

From the moment I met Chris, I knew I was in good hands.” – Kevin H.

If you hit another car or a piece of property and only your car got damaged, then that’s another valid defense. And if you were injured badly in a car accident and your passenger took over the car and drove you to the hospital, then you didn’t willfully leave the scene of the accident. The hit and run charges would likely not hold up. In another scenario, perhaps you hit another car, but you and the driver didn’t exchange information because there was no visible damage. The next day, however, they start to feel back pain. Since no visible injury occurred at the time, there is no way you could have known an injury would pop up later on. If you’re in an area with bad cell phone reception or you don’t have a pen and paper to write a note, then see if there is a nearby store around where you could make a call and get the supplies you need. You could also go into stores and ask around about the car or object that you hit to see whom it belongs to.

Contacting California Hit and Run Defense Attorney Chris Bou Saeed

California hit and run defense attorney Chris J. Bou Saeed at CBS Law Inc. has extensive experience with hit and run cases. One client was facing three years behind bars and Chris J. Bou Saeed was able to get his case dismissed. Contact CBS Law for your free 60-minute consultation by calling (213) 800-8005 or getting in touch on our website. CBS Law is here for you 24/7, and we’ll work hard on your case to ensure justice is served. We are looking forward to helping you with your hit and run case in California.
“When you’re accused of something you didn’t do, the thought of losing everything can be overwhelming. My job isn’t to walk you through the process, my job is to get your life back.”
imgChristopher J. Bou Saeed Founding Attorney of CBS Law

Results. Not Promises.

Are you or a loved one facing criminal charges?


    100% Secure & Confidential