Los Angeles Sexual Assault Attorney
Are you dealing with sexual assault charges in California? Get in touch with a California sexual assault attorney who will fight for you, no matter what.
Getting charged with sexual assault is a serious matter. You could be facing years behind bars, hefty fines, and other penalties that could have a devastating effect on you for the rest of your life. That’s why it’s critical to learn more about the charges you’re facing and finding suitable representation in the form of an experienced sexual assault attorney to help you. Then, you could possibly get your charges reduced – or even dropped altogether.
What Is Sexual Assault?
While rape is a form of sexual assault, it’s not the only sexual act that is classified as sexual assault. In California, sexual assault, which is also called sexual battery, occurs when one person touches another person’s intimate parts like their genitals, buttocks, or breasts against that person’s will, and because they specifically wanted to achieve some sort of sexual gratification. Sexual assault can range from grabbing another person’s butt to kissing them or rubbing their genitals without consent.
“I felt like i was in nightmare. Chris literally saved my life.” – Jesus L.
Proving You Committed Sexual Assault
A prosecutor has to show that beyond a reasonable doubt, you committed sexual assault. Many times, these cases are one person’s word against another, so this can be difficult to prove. The prosecutor needs to demonstrate that you engaged in unwanted touching for sexual abuse, arousal, or gratification as well. If there is any evidence available, such as video footage, photographs, or witness statements, the prosecutor will attempt to use them against you.
Penalties for Sexual Assault
Sexual assault is a wobbler crime, which means it can be a misdemeanor or a felony. Charges could be classified as a felony if the alleged victim was unlawfully restrained, unaware of the act that was happening, or seriously disabled or medically incapacitated.
If you’re charged with a misdemeanor, you could go to jail for up to six months or one year and pay a fine of up to $2,000 or $3,000 if you employed the alleged victim. You will also have to register as a tier-one sex offender for a minimum of 10 years. If you’re charged with a felony, you could go to prison for two, three, or four years, as well as pay up to $10,000 in fines. You will likely have to register as a tier-three lifetime sex offender. If you were an accomplice to a sexual assault, you could also face severe penalties.
“From the moment I met Chris, I knew I was in good hands.” – Kevin H.
Defending Yourself Against a Sexual Assault Charge
Defenses to sexual assault include getting consent from the alleged victim and not having sufficient evidence that the sexual assault actually occurred. There could also be a lack of evidence proving the event happened.
Contact California Sexual Assault Attorney CBS Law
If you are being charged with sexual assault, then it’s time to reach out to a California sexual assault attorney who will fight for you, no matter what.
Want to learn more about what CBS Law can do for you? Then contact us for your free 60-minute consultation by calling (213) 800-8005 or getting in touch on our website. CBS Law is here for you 24/7, and we’ll work hard on your case to ensure justice is served. We are looking forward to helping you with your sexual assault charges in California.
Do NOT speak to law enforcement or investigators about your sexual assault charges, as that information can and will be used against you in a court of law.
Christopher J. Bou Saeed Founding Attorney of CBS Law