California Vandalism Attorney
Are you facing a vandalism charge in California? Get in touch with a California vandalism attorney who will work hard on your case.
If you were caught or suspected of vandalizing someone else’s property, then it’s possible you will be charged with vandalism in California. The penalties for this crime will range depending on the circumstances surrounding the crime, but you could face time behind bars in a more serious case.
By learning more about vandalism charges, as well as hiring a California vandalism attorney to help you, you will have the best chance possible of fighting your charges and hopefully getting them reduced or dropped altogether in the best-case scenario.
What Is Vandalism?
Vandalism is defined as malicious destruction, damaging, or the defacing of another person’s property. It can include spray-painting a building without permission or keying another person’s car. You can be charged with vandalism even if you own a piece of property with someone. For example, you may get into a fight with your spouse and break the television you both own. Even if the vandalism is not permanent – for example, you use chalk that can easily be washed off to write something on a business’ property – vandalism could still apply.
“I felt like i was in nightmare. Chris literally saved my life.” – Jesus L.
Proving You Committed Vandalism
The prosecution needs to prove that you maliciously and intentionally destroyed or defaced someone else’s property, and you did so without the owner’s permission. The owner in question would be brought in, and footage of the incident, photographs, and/or witness statements could be used to prove the prosecutor’s case.
Penalties for Vandalism
The penalties for vandalism are going to depend on the amount of damage done in terms of dollar value. If the damage is worth $400 or more, then vandalism becomes a wobbler, which means it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. If you’re charged with a misdemeanor, you could be punished with up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
If you’re charged with felony vandalism, you may be sent to jail for between one and three years and pay a fine of up to $10,000. However, the fine could be even more if you caused a lot of damage. You may need to pay a fine of up to $50,000 if the damage amounted to more than $10,000. Additionally, you could be sentenced to formal probation. If the vandalism was gang-related, then your charges could be counted under California’s Three Strikes Law, and you could get a strike on your record and be sent to prison for up to four years.
“From the moment I met Chris, I knew I was in good hands.” – Kevin H.
Defending Yourself Against a Vandalism Charge
One of the most common defenses to a vandalism charge is that the damage was done by accident and you had no malicious intent. You may have also been falsely accused of vandalism, or someone mistook you for the person who actually committed the vandalism. Also, you could say that you were given permission to commit the alleged vandalism; maybe a storeowner hired you to graffiti their building or your landlord gave you permission to rip up your floor and replace it with a new one.
Contact California Vandalism Attorney CBS Law
If you are being charged with vandalism, then it’s time to reach out to a California vandalism attorney who will defend you and work hard on your behalf. That’s CBS Law.
Want to learn more about what CBS Law can do for you? Then contact us for your free 60-minute consultation by calling (213) 800-8005 or getting in touch on our website. CBS Law is here for you 24/7, and we’ll work hard on your case to ensure justice is served. We are looking forward to helping you with your vandalism charge in California.
Do NOT speak to law enforcement or investigators about your vandalism charge, as that information can and will be used against you in a court of law.
Christopher J. Bou Saeed Founding Attorney of CBS Law