California Theft Crimes Defense Attorney
Have you been charged with a theft crime in California? Then it’s time to find a California theft crimes defense attorney who will fight hard for you.
Theft is a serious crime, and one that California courts prosecute to the fullest extent of the law. Penalties include being charged with a misdemeanor or a felony and having to serve time in jail, paying fines and/or restitution to the victim, going on probation, and attending mandatory counseling sessions depending on the severity of the crime.
With the right representation on your side, you can defend against your charges and have a better chance of getting them reduced or dropped altogether. Here’s some more information on theft crimes in California, as well as why you need a lawyer who is going to fight for you inside and outside of the courtroom.
In the state of California, petty theft applies to goods stolen that were valued at $950 or less. Typically, petty theft is charged as a misdemeanor, which means you’d have to go to county jail for up to six months and/or pay a fine of no more than $1,000. However, if you have a prior theft conviction on your record, then it could be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. You may have to go to jail for up to a year if you’re charged with a misdemeanor, or go to jail for 16 months, two years, or three years if you are charged with a felony. If you stole goods that were worth $50 or less, then you could be charged with an infraction, as long as you have not been convicted of other theft crimes. You could just have to pay a fine of no more than $250.
“I felt like I was in a nightmare. Chris literally saved my life.” – Jesus L.
Grand theft involves stealing property worth more than $950, and you could be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony. If you are convicted of misdemeanor grand theft, then you could go to county jail for up to six months, pay a fine, and be subject to informal probation. If you are convicted of felony grand theft, then you may have to go to California state prison for 16 months, two years, or three years and pay a maximum of $10,000 in fines.
If you enter a store while it’s open for business and steal less than $950 in goods, then you could be charged with a misdemeanor and have to go to county jail for up to six months. You may also have to pay back the retail establishment you shoplifted from if you are found civilly liable.
If you take someone else’s property against their will and used fear or force in order to do so, then you could be charged with robbery. Robbery is a felony and is punishable in both the first and second degrees. With first degree robbery, you could be sentenced to up to nine years in state prison, and with second degree robbery, you could go to state prison for up to five years. In both cases, you may have to pay fines of up to $10,000.
“From the moment I met Chris, I knew I was in good hands.” – Kevin H.
You could be charged with burglary if you enter a residential or commercial structure, or a locked vehicle, and intend to commit petty theft, grand theft, or another felony offense. First degree burglary would apply if you were caught in someone’s residence, while second degree burglary would apply if you were caught in any other structure. If you’re convicted of first degree burglary, you could be sent to state prison for two, four, or six years, and if you’re convicted of second degree burglary, you could be sent to county jail for up to one year if it’s a misdemeanor or 16 months, two years, or three years if it’s a felony. You may also have to pay fines of up to $10,000.
If you steal someone’s sensitive information such as their Social Security number or credit card number and use it for fraudulent or illegal purposes, then you could be charged with identity theft. If convicted of a misdemeanor, you could face up to one year in county jail and pay a fine of up to $1,000, but if convicted of a felony, you may be sent to California state prison for up to three years and pay a fine of up to $10,000.
Contacting California Theft Crimes Defense Attorney CBS Law
With California theft crimes defense attorney CBS Law in your corner, you can fight your charges. In one case, criminal defense lawyer Chris J. Bou Saeed was representing a client who faced six years behind bars for robbery. He successfully got the case dismissed instead.
To get started, contact CBS Law for your free 60-minute consultation by calling (213) 800-8005 or getting in touch on our website. CBS Law is here for you 24/7, and we’ll work hard on your case to ensure justice is served. We are looking forward to helping you with your theft crimes case in California.
“When you’re accused of something you didn’t do, the thought of losing everything can be overwhelming. My job isn’t to walk you through the process, my job is to get your life back.”
Christopher J. Bou Saeed Founding Attorney of CBS Law