California Elder Abuse Attorney
Are you facing an elder abuse charge in California? Get in touch with a California elder abuse attorney who will work hard on your case.
Elder abuse is a serious crime in California. Since the elderly population is particularly vulnerable – especially if they are dealing with physical or mental health issues – the law protects them from parties who are not looking out for their best interests. If you convicted of committing elder abuse, then you could spend time behind bars and have to deal with other consequences that could affect you for the rest of your life.
That’s why it’s critical to research elder abuse and the laws behind it, and then find a California elder abuse attorney who will stand by your side no matter what.
“I felt like I was in nightmare. Chris literally saved my life.” – Jesus L.
What Is Elder Abuse?
In California, elder abuse is when you neglect or inflict emotional or physical abuse on someone who is 65 years of age or older. It can also include financial abuse, or the wrongful taking of their property and assets, isolating a senior and not letting them receive visitors or make contact with the outside world, threatening or harassing them or causing them to be fearful, or neglecting them by failing to offer clothing, food, shelter, and other basic needs.
Some signs of elder abuse include suspicious financial transactions, missing property, surprising changes to estate planning documents, malnutrition, dehydration, sudden weight loss, bruises, broken bones or teeth, skin tears, anger, agitation, depression, fearfulness, defensiveness, or confusion. Family members, caregivers, and nursing homes could be responsible for elder abuse.
Proving You Committed Elder Abuse
A prosecutor will need to show that you willfully or with criminal negligence put an elderly person through unjustifiable mental suffering or physical pain. Your conduct must have been likely to result in great bodily injury or death. There are certain agencies that will investigate your elder abuse case depending on where it occurred and what type of abuse allegedly happened. A prosecutor may call in witnesses like other family members or nursing home employees to try to prove that abuse occurred. They may also use an elder’s medical records and test results as evidence.
“From the moment I met Chris, I knew I was in good hands.” – Kevin H.
Penalties for Elder Abuse
Elder abuse is a wobbler offense, which means it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. If you’re charged with a misdemeanor, you could go to county jail for up to one year and have to pay a fine of up to $6,000. You may also owe restitution to the victim.
If you’re charged with a felony, you could be sentenced to state prison for up to four years and have to pay a fine of up to $10,000 as well as restitution to the victim.
If the victim suffers from great bodily harm due to the elder abuse, an additional seven years could be added to your sentence. Remember that victims of elder abuse can also file a civil lawsuit against the defendant.
Defending Yourself Against Elder Abuse Charges
When defending yourself, you could say that no abuse occurred, you did not act willfully, or the alleged victim is making a false accusation of elder abuse. Sometimes, family members or other parties will bring forth false accusations, and you could get caught up in the crossfire.
Contact California Elder Abuse Attorney CBS Law
If you have been charged with elder abuse in California, it’s time to get in touch with an attorney who will work hard on your case. Then, you will have the best chance possible of getting a plea deal or taking your case to court and getting your charges reduced or dropped altogether.
Now, you can contact us for your free 60-minute consultation by calling (213) 800-8005 or getting in touch on our website. CBS Law is here for you 24/7, and we’ll work hard on your case to ensure justice is served. We are looking forward to helping you with your elder abuse charges in California.
“Do NOT speak to law enforcement or investigators about your elder abuse charges, as that information can and will be used against you in a court of law.”
Christopher J. Bou Saeed Founding Attorney of CBS Law