California Child Pornography Attorney
Are you facing child pornography charges in California? Get in touch with a California child pornography attorney who will work hard for you, no matter what.
Getting charged with a child pornography crime is a serious issue, as a conviction can result in you spending years behind bars, paying large fines, and having to register as a lifetime sex offender. At a time when you are feeling stressed out and worried, you can calm your anxiety by learning more about your charges and hiring an experienced California child pornography attorney to assist you. Then, you will have a better chance of getting your charges reduced or dropped altogether and moving forward with your life. Here’s some helpful information.
What Is Child Pornography?
Child pornography includes any images, computer files, or videos that show someone under 18 years of age engaging in a sexual act that is either simulated or real. In California, it is illegal to possess child pornography or produce, advertise, or send it. Essentially, you could potentially be charged with a child pornography crime if you have it on your computer or in your home or you send it to someone else, like through an email or text message.
“I felt like I was in nightmare. Chris literally saved my life.” – Jesus L.
Proving You Committed a Child Pornography Crime
The prosecutor will need to show that you possessed, produced, sent, or advertised child pornography. It’s important that they show intention; for instance, if your defense is that you accidentally downloaded malware that contained child pornography, then they’ll need to show that this was not an accident and the possession was purposeful. Using evidence like pictures, videos, and computer files, the prosecutor is going to attempt to convict you of a crime.
Penalties for a Child Pornography Crime
Child pornography crimes are wobbler offenses. This means they can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.
If you’re charged with a misdemeanor, you could go to county jail for up to one year and have to pay up to $2,000 in fines. If you’re charged with a felony, you could be sent to state prison for between 16 months and eight years and pay fines of up to $100,000. You might also have to register as a sex offender for the rest of your life.
“From the moment I met Chris, I knew I was in good hands.” – Kevin H.
Defending Yourself Against a Child Pornography Charge
In your defense, you could say that you did not know you were looking at child pornography and thought the actors were of age, you clicked a bad link, or you accidentally downloaded malware on your computer, and it contained child porn in it. You could also claim you were part of an entrapment scheme from the police or an illegal search or seizure without the proper warrants occurred.
Contact California Child Pornography Attorney CBS Law
If you are being charged with child pornography, then it’s time to reach out to a California child pornography attorney who will defend you and work hard on your behalf. That’s CBS Law.
Want to learn more about what CBS Law can do for you? Then contact us for your free 60-minute consultation by calling (213) 800-8005 or getting in touch on our website. CBS Law is here for you 24/7, and we’ll work hard on your case to ensure justice is served. We are looking forward to helping you with your child pornography charges in California.
“Do NOT speak to law enforcement or investigators about your child pornography charges, as that information can and will be used against you in a court of law.”
Christopher J. Bou Saeed Founding Attorney of CBS Law